Honeymoon

Hello world! A big and wonderful life event that the Artist and I had been planning for five months happened on May 16 (pictures to come later) and now that it is over and life returns to “normal,” you shall see me back here a little more often again.

After the “I do’s,” we hopped on a plane to Mexico. I had no idea where in Mexico we were going for our honeymoon, but I knew it was a) going to be warm, 2) not a resort, and 3) something I didn’t have to plan, so I was perfectly content to be surprised. We arrived in Los Cabos on the Baja California Sur five hours after we departed in Vancouver. I had never heard of the place before anyway (I’m very unfamiliar with Mexican geography), so it would have been a surprise regardless!

IMG_1376IMG_1380We stayed about 1 hour from the nearest town, San José del Cabo, in a small boutique hotel on the east cape called VidaSoul. It was wonderfully private with excellent views and cuisine. The Artist thought I would enjoy the modern architecture. I did.IMG_1228IMG_1254Being so remote and without a car, there was only one place to eat nearby, and that was at the restaurant attached to it called Crossroads. Everything we ate there, we liked.

breakfastThese people sure know how to do guacamole well. Since being married to a Texan, I’m starting to recognize good guacamole when I meet it.lunchIMG_1250Waking up to this view was a beautiful way to greet the morning. And falling asleep to the thunderous waves was a perfect way to close the day.IMG_1265IMG_1257As peaceful as the place was, we ended up renting a car halfway through the week to explore more of the area. The city girl that I am had to get some time in exploring a town, so we walked around San José del Cabo for a day, stopping in at shops, restaurants, churches, and art galleries.IMG_1311IMG_1296IMG_1292IMG_1323IMG_1286IMG_1277We felt every bump along the dirt roads in our little Nissan Sentra. It was quite the ride.IMG_1370Instead of car traffic, you’re more likely to wait for cows, horses, and mules here.IMG_1354IMG_1344We went snorkelling a couple times, one time in nearby Cabo Pulmo. I worked on conquering my fear of deep water/drowning by going on a 2 hour boat trip, getting dropped off at various points in the ocean (sometimes in the middle of nowhere!) and being told to “just snorkel around here for 15 minutes.” Thank goodness for the life jacket. The only other time I’ve snorkelled was in Hawaii, and just from shore. But it was a lot of fun! Having an underwater camera made for some great shots of all the creatures that live under the sea. And yes, I had that Little Mermaid song running through my head a lot.

I read Beauty Plus Pity by Vancouver author Kevin Chong while down there and quite enjoyed it, so much more than his first novel, Baroque-A-Nova.

IMG_1445We did a lot of lying around on the beach, which was exactly what we needed. One of the best and rare things about the beach below (apart from the great snorkelling) was that there were trees! Without their shade, you’ll quickly burn lying out in it all day (even with sunscreen on, as we soon found out!)

IMG_1440Thanks for the r&r, Mexico! Until next time, adiós!IMG_1505IMG_1253IMG_1432IMG_1405

Leave a Reply

